Network Learning Project Update

A couple weeks ago, I posted about how I was going to learn some amazing new hula hooping skills. I know everyone has been patiently waiting to see what I can do and have done. Before we get to my learning, I have had some requests to see what Floating looks like. Below is a video of me demonstrating Floating in by backyard. 

 

However, this is a skill I have had for a bit. As a reminder I am trying to learn how to duck out of a hula hoop at my shoulder. Since photographing hula hooping is hard, below is a video of where I was at prior to watching videos on YouTube.

As you can see, I struggled with the idea of how to get both arms inside of the hoop. This isn’t a skill 100% needed to duck out since on a duck out only one arm is inside the hoop. However, it makes the trick much easier to do since the body movements are quite similar. To master this skill, I turned to YouTube. Howcast has some excellent videos. This video is one of the most helpful I have come across because she really breaks down the body movements needed to hold the hoop in the position. She also does an excellent job providing video examples of how to keep moving once you are using the hoop. The only issue I found with this video was that she spends quite a bit of time on discussing chest hooping and how it links to across the shoulders hooping. Since I already mastered chest hooping, that portion was not as worthwhile as if she had linked it to pulling one arm out since that is what I needed. However, I can understand where most people would benefit more from having those two skills linked together.

Even after watching the video, I still struggled with how to keep the hoop up once both arms are inside the hoop. I could keep it up for a little bit but not long enough to get one arm out of the hoop. Luckily, the next video I turned to gave the advice to turn in the same direction as you stick your arms in. This drastically helped me keep the hoop up long enough to get it to my neck, so I could get my arm out. 

So without further ado here is my progress in my NLP.

 

2 thoughts on “Network Learning Project Update

  1. I must applaud you and your hard work, Sheila. You have done a terrific job! Your post is well-written and personable. It is clear to see that you have invested a great deal of time in your goal and it has paid off. I look forward to seeing your final PLN blog post/video. Keep up the great work!

    Best regards, Lorie

    Like

Leave a Reply

